Becoming a Dentist in Louisiana - LA
Every dentist who has a career in the state of Louisiana is required by law to keep his or her license on display so that patients can see it at all times. To learn how to become a dentist in this state, the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry says that all license applicants must be citizens of the United States. Next, applicants must be graduates of a dental college or university that is approved by the Louisiana State Board. This university level dental training is usually completed following undergraduate schooling.
In addition, every applicant for a dentistry license in Louisiana must pass a test on dental theory and practice administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations, the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry Jurisprudence exam, and a Louisiana clinical licensing examination. The state also mandates that all licensed dentists have current, up to date CPR training. You must also submit a passport-sized photo of yourself along with your application for a dental license in Louisiana and all applicable fees. In order to maintain one’s dental license in Louisiana, one must complete 40 hours of continuing education courses every two years. At least 20 of these hours must be in clinical courses, while the other 20 hours may be fulfilled through the completion of online or correspondence courses.