dcsimg

Becoming a Midwife in Idaho – ID

Those who are interested in becoming a midwife in Idaho should be aware that Idaho has passed a midwifery licensure law. This means that midwifery is now a regulated profession in Idaho and all practitioners are required to be officially licensed by July 1, 2010.  “Midwifery” refers to those who provide maternity care during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods for women and their newborn babies.  The postpartum period is defined as six weeks from the delivery date.


To become a midwife in Idaho a person must obtain an application from the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses (IBOL). An application can be downloaded at the IBOL website or obtained in person. The fees that must accompany a completed application include a $50 application fee and an initial license fee of $550. The applicant’s signature must be notarized as well. Along with the application, proof of current certification as a Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) or Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) must be attached. Other required documentation that must accompany the application must show that the applicant has successfully completed courses accredited by the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC) in pharmacology, the treatment of shock and IV therapy and suturing in the context of midwifery.

Applications should be sent to:

Idaho State Board of Midwifery
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses 
700 West State Street, PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063 


Midwife Schools