Pharmacy Technician Certification in Connecticut - CT
By an allied health world contributing writer
Find a school now
Steps to Becoming a Pharmacy Technician in Connecticut
Connecticut is one of the states that have licensure requirements for pharmacy technicians.
The State of Connecticut’s Commission of Pharmacy, under the Department of Consumer Protection, requires that pharmacy technicians be licensed according to Connecticut General Statutes Section 20-598a.
According to the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Drug Control Division, pharmacy technicians must submit a Pharmacy Technician application. The application can be downloaded at http://www.ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/pdf/applications_october_2009/ptn-09oct.pdf. Note that the application must include information regarding where the applicant is employed, as well as the Connecticut licensure number of the pharmacy or institution.
The completed application, along with a check or money order for $100.00 payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” should be mailed to the following address:
Department of Consumer Protection, License Services Division
165 Capitol Ave.
Hartford, CT 06106
Connecticut pharmacy technician certification programs are offered through online schools. Programs typically run for ten weeks, and some classes are held during the evenings. Entrance requirements are a high school diploma or G.E.D. A mathematics placement test may be required.
After successfully completing an online Connecticut pharmacy technician certification course, students are eligible to take either one of the following examinations to achieve professional certification.
- The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) examination awards the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) professional credential. For more information on examination dates and locations, visit http://www.pearsonvue.com/.
- The Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT) administers a certification exam, the Exam for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ExCPT). Those who pass receive the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) certification. More information can be found at http://www.nationaltechexam.org/excptinfo.html.
Unlike many tests, applicants can register from 1-2 days before the scheduled ExCPT examination date. The examination is offered over 300 days a year. Test dates and locations can be found at www.lasergrade.com or by calling 1-800-211-2754.
According to the Connecticut Pharmacists Association, the state of Connecticut allows those who have passed the PTCB examination “to be a third technician on a shift with a pharmacist. Normally that ratio is two technicians to one pharmacist.”