Health Information Technology Certification in Alaska - AK

Currently, the state of Alaska does not require certification of its health information technicians.  There is, however, a proposal on the books to establish certification programs within this field.  The proposal calls for two certification programs for testing and certifying health information technologists.  The expectation is that a temporary certification program will be established in Alaska and testing would be done by organizations authorized by the National Coordinator.  These organizations will extend the testing and certification of Complete EHRs and/or EHR Modules.  This will assure that all medical records are updated to EHR standards by the proposed 2013 date.  The second proposal calls for establishing a permanent certification program that will eventually replace temporary certification in Alaska. 

The almost certain direction of mandated certification in Alaska means that additional education after high school will be required as well.  There are several universities in the state of Alaska that offer the necessary training to become a skilled health information technician.  Most colleges in Alaska encourage students that have not taken college courses prior to enrollment in the program to first enroll in a few general education courses. Each school will work with the student to develop the curriculum that will fulfill the degree requirements.

Health Information Technology Schools

Refine School Matches
Hide filters
  • SUBJECT Clear All

    See More


    See More



    Please enter valid US or Canada Zip.
            Results open in new window

            Searching Searching ...

            Matching School Ads
            • Looking for an Online Healthcare Degree Program That May Improve Your Career Options?
            • EarnMyDegree.com Can Help You Match Your Educational Goals With Your Desired Career.
            • Whether You Are Looking to Earn a Degree Online, or Study at a Nearby Campus, This Is The Place to Connect With a College That May Be Ideal for You.
            • Browse Through Our List Of Online Colleges and Traditional Schools to Determine Potential Places to Earn a Degree NOW!
            • Online Courses