HIT Certification

What is the importance of RHIT Certification?

As access to health care expands and the distribution of information becomes more complex, many organizations are requiring that health information technology professionals possess nationally recognized certifications.

The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) credentials individuals as Registered Health Information Technologists (RHIT) or as Registered Health Information Administrator’s (RHIA).  To receive the RHIT certification, an individual must complete a two-year program at one of the health information technology schools accredited by the Commission health IT student trainingon Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM), and pass an examination administered by AHIMA.

An RHIT credential tells a prospective employer that an individual has received a standardized education that covers the necessary medical, administrative, data handling and information systems education necessary for the provision of health information management.

What should I consider when looking at health information technology schools?

The certification that many employers are now looking for requires attendance at a two year, accredited program. People seeking to be certified as Registered Health Information Technicians (RHIT) attend programs accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM).  

Completion of these programs and passing a national exam administered by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) allows an individual to receive their RHIT certificate.

What are some options for specialized credentials in health information technology?

Health information technology professionals can also pursue specialty credentials in medical coding. Medical coding is a complex process of pairing diagnosis with procedures to ensure that reimbursement is timely and appropriate. As reimbursement is driven by medical necessity, a sophisticated understanding of the relationship between diagnoses, testing and clinical service delivery is essential. The American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) offers credentials in the area of coding. Additional more specialized medical coding credentials are offered through the Board of Medical Specialty Coding (BMSC) and the Professional Association of Health Care Coding Specialists (PAHCS). Additional organizations offer specialty coding credentials and certifications for certain complex disease processes and treatments to those with the necessary HIT training. Health information technicians who pursue careers in specialized medical environments can contact a variety of credentialing organizations to learn more about specialty medical coding credentials and their education requirements. Many specialty credentials require an individual have a certain amount of experience in the industry to be considered eligible.

Health Information Technology Schools

Refine School Listings
Please enter valid US or Canada Zip.
Matching School Ads

Ready for a rewarding career? Start with a certificate or degree from Carrington College California.

At Fortis Institute, you may get the skills and training you need to prepare for a career.

* Programs vary by location

* Please contact each individual campus for accreditation information

Selected Campus Locations:
  • Cuyahoga Falls
The schools below offer related programs that other inquirers have considered.

The Berkeley Advantage®is part of a proven approach to career-focused education that can help students prepare for success.