dcsimg

Becoming a Physical Therapist in Maine – ME

It is illegal to practice physical therapy in the state of Maine without obtaining a state license to do so. Therefore, graduates from physical therapy programs and licensed physical therapists moving to Maine from other states must apply for a license before seeking employment as a physical therapist.


How to Become a Physical Therapist in Maine

To become a physical therapist in Maine, one must become licensed. Licensing of physical therapists in Maine is handled through the Office of Licensing & Registration, which is part of the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. As with other states, Maine requires that physical therapists successfully complete a graduate-level program in physical therapy and take the national physical therapy board exam as administered by The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).

There are two basic ways to receive a license in Maine—through examination or by endorsement. Applicants who have not yet held a license should apply for a License by Examination, while applicants with licenses from other states should apply for a License by Endorsement.
Applicants for an initial Maine physical therapy license must submit:

  1. A completed application with the required fee of $136 (license fee of $40, application fee of $75, and background check fee of $21).
  2. A $25 check for the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE), if the applicant hasn’t already registered for and/or taken the exam.
  3. Test scores from NPTE if applicant has already taken the exam.
  4. A completed reference form (demonstrating trustworthiness and competence).
  5. Official transcript from accredited physical therapy degree program.

Applicants for a Maine physical therapy license through the Endorsement process must submit:

  1. A completed application with the required fee of $136 (license fee of $40, application fee of $75, and background check fee of $21).
  2. A completed reference form (demonstrating trustworthiness and competence).
  3. Official transcript from accredited physical therapy degree program.
  4. Verification of license from another state (form located in application packet).
  5. Supervisor’s affidavit of work experience.
  6. Verification of test scores from NPTE taken in another state.

Licenses for physical therapists in Maine are issued annually and must be renewed by March 31st of each year. The annual renewal fee as of January 1, 2010 is $60. Reminders are sent to all licensed physical therapists, and late renewals are charged an additional late fee of $50.

Although the Maine Physical Therapist State Practice Act does not specify continuing education requirements, any professional in this field understands that continued training and education is vitally important and critical for anyone pursuing a successful career in physical therapy. Continuing education opportunities are offered at several colleges in Maine, and through the Maine chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association’s conferences and workshops (www.maineapta.org).


Physical Therapy Schools