Becoming a Physical Therapist in Michigan – MI
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) expects that national employment of physical therapists will grow up to 30% by 2018. The reason for this being that physical therapists have been working legislatively to get third party reimbursement for their services, which in turn brings in more money to the individual facility. With increased profits by the treatment facility, comes increased need for physical therapists service. With this increased profit, can come increased salary. BLS also reported that the top 10% of annual salaries nationally was over $100,000. Michigan offers many opportunities for physical therapists all over the state and physical therapists in this state make more than the national average.
How to Become a Physical Therapist in Michigan
In order to practice in this state, licensure is required by the Michigan Department of Community Health, Bureau of Health professions. The Michigan Board of Physical Therapy is part of the bureau that is in charge of granting licenses and disciplinary actions for complaints on a physical therapist in the state. Applicants must have and complete the following:
- Graduate from a CAPTE accredited program and submit official transcripts
- Application and application fee of $135
- Submit finger prints and criminal background check
- Michigan jurisprudence exam (this is part of the application packet, must obtain 75% or higher)
- If licensed in another state, must provide verification from all states where licenses were held
- Successful completion of the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE)
The NPTE is created and provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). The FSBPT works with all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the District of Columbia to provide public health protection by requiring a national exam to practice as a physical therapist. Once your application is received and approved, you will receive an Authorization to Test form from the Michigan board of Physical Therapy and can then register for the exam. The exam costs $370 and applicants have 60 days from receiving authorization to take the exam. You may take the exam 3 times within a 12-month period.
Physical Therapy License Renewal in Michigan
The initial license in Michigan is good for up to one year depending on when the license was granted. After the first renewal, it is good for 2 years. You must submit a renewal application form with renewal fee of $110. The Michigan does not require continuing education hours, but expects license holders to complete the hours themselves to maintain good practice. The APTA and its state chapters offer many opportunities for continuing education. One option offered is the Learning Center, which allows members to take online courses and obtain continuing education hours. These courses are available in many different areas of the field like acute care, pediatrics, home health, women’s issues, and oncology to name a few. The APTA also holds national conferences and meetings. The Michigan chapter of the APTA also offers a spring seminar and other continuing education opportunities.