Becoming a Physical Therapist in Utah – UT
The state of Utah lays out many restrictions and regulations in reference to attempting to get a physical therapy license. While Utah does require some of the same statutes and procedures as other states, their licensing procedure appears to be slightly more comprehensive.
Steps to Become a Physical Therapist in Utah
Utah is a great state of open and wide plateaus and extensive scenery to look upon. It is fairly safe to state that the income of a physical therapist, averaging $66,000 per year, can provide for a significant quality of life in this incredible state.
Outlined here are the steps that must be taken in order to get a physical therapy license in Utah.
Step #1: Seek Out an Accredited School in Utah
The state of Utah requires that students wishing to pursue a career in the physical therapy field attend a nationally accredited school. The governing body which accredits the school should be the Commission of Accreditation of Physical Therapy Education, also known as CAPTE.
This provisional requirement of national accreditation is upheld by the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, as well as the Utah Physical Therapy Association, or UPTA, in sponsorship with the American Physical Therapy Association, or APTA. All of these organizations require that a student complete the required course work through a nationally affiliated accreditation agency before any type of license can be issued.
When seeking out a school in Utah that meets this national accreditation requirement, it is important to keep in mind the purpose of the accreditation. The CAPTE is a governing organization which implements and maintains that professionals employed in the physical therapy field are competent and suitable for their job; thus turning out great professionals to the public.
Step #2: Take the Utah Physical Therapy Law and Rule Examination
This is where the state of Utah differs slightly from other states in their requirement for a physical therapy license in Utah. The Utah Physical Therapy Law and Rule Examination, also known as a jurisprudence exam, is a take-home style test which is administered by the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.
The purpose of this test is to make sure that Utah students are up to date and understand all of the current and provisional laws regarding physical therapy in Utah. Since students will be held to these standards when they are employed and practicing as a physical therapist, the state of Utah likes to make sure that students are prepared for this feat before they attempt to take the national examination.
Step #4: Prepare for the National Physical Therapy Examination
The National Physical Therapy Examination is a test which is produced by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, also known as FSBPT. This test is something that all Utah physical therapy students must take and successfully pass before they will be considered for a state license.
The National Physical Therapy Examination charges a non-refundable fee of $350 for each prospective student to take the examination. Retakes of the examination are allowed, however it is highly recommendable to make sure that the examination is passed the first time around so as not to delay the licensing process.
Step #3: Getting Licensed in Utah
The state of Utah has an application process in order to be considered for a physical therapy license. Once it can be verified that the student attended an accredited educational institution, passed the Utah Physical Therapy Law and Rule Examination and graduated from the National Physical Therapy Examination with at least a passing score, the process of licensing application in the state of Utah can begin.
Utah does not lay out strict regulations on how many times the NPTE test can be taken; thus the examination can be taken as many times as is needed. The fee for applying for a physical therapy license in Utah is $70 and this fee only has to be paid once, unless the application process fails. If the application process fails and the student attempts to re-apply, another licensing fee will be applied.