Pharmacy Technician Certification in Louisiana - LA
Steps to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana
The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, or LABP, was legally established over a hundred years ago, and had been meeting for almost a century before that. One might say they’ve had a lot of time to develop a reputation, and work out their guidelines.
As such, Louisiana is one of the harder states in which to become a Pharmacy Tech, but Louisiana pharmacy technician certification programs pretty much guarantee you'll be head and shoulder above everyone else.
In order to be eligible to register as a Pharmacy Technician Candidate in Louisiana, you need to be over 18 with a valid birth certificate, and posses either a high school diploma or equivalent degree. You will also be subject to a criminal background check, and while they seem to evaluate on a case-to-case basis, anyone with a felony in the last 5 years will be denied.
Upon acceptance of registration, you have to immediately begin working towards becoming a full Pharmacy Technician. In the state of Louisiana, this means completing both an approved Pharmacy Technician Training program, and 600 hours of practical experience. A maximum of 50 hours can be earned a week, and after a year the hours are no longer valid.
After you’ve completed your program and hit at least 600 hours, you are eligible to take the LABP’s Pharmacy Technician exam. This can be taken up to three times, but after the third failure you’ll need to wait another year to retake it- and earn another 600 hours.
Once you've gotten your hours, a certificate of completion from a LAPB approved training program, and you've passed the test, you can register as a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana.