dcsimg

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Colorado - CO

The state of Colorado mandates that you must be licensed in order to legally practice massage therapy. Colorado is now the 39th state to regulate the profession of massage therapy, making it a law that all massage therapists must be licensed.   Colorado massage therapy certification for licensure helps ensure practitioners are well versed in their chosen modality.


Examination Requirements for Colorado Massage Therapy Certification:
Applicant must have passed one of the following examinations:
  • The massage and bodywork licensing exam conducted by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
  • The national certification examination conducted by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) with a minimum score of 300

Application Requirements for Colorado Massage Therapy Certification:

  • Applicant must submit application form offered by the Director online
  • Submit a non-refundable application fee of $90 in money order or check, payable to the State of Colorado
  • The individual must sign the Attestation form stating that all information provided by the applicant is true and correct to the best of their knowledge, and also that the individual will obtain and maintain liability insurance while practicing massage therapy
  • Applicant must complete the finger-print criminal background check (the electronic finger-printing is recommended by the Department)
    • Applicant must have obtained finger-printing from a local law enforcement agency, The Colorado Correctional Industries, or Arapahoe Community College
    • The Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) charges $39.50 to conduct a criminal history check
    • Finger-print card and exact fee must be mailed to The Colorado Bureau of investigations

Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI)
690 Kipling Street, Suite 3000
Denver, CO 80215

  • The completed application and fee can be sent to the Division of Registrations

Division of Registrations
Office of Licensing – Massage Therapist
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: (303) 894-7800
Fax: (303) 894-7693
www.dora.state.co.us

Eligibility to become licensed in Colorado from another Jurisdiction:

An individual who holds an unrestricted license from another state, and is in good standing, may be eligible for licensure in the state of Colorado by completing the following:

  • The individual has completed the application form and paid the fee (same as above)
  • The qualifications the individual has acquired for licensure from another state is corresponding to the requirements set forth by the division of Colorado
  • Individual has submitted proof of experience and knowledge in the massage therapy field by providing one of the following:
    • Credentials of practicing active massage therapy in their state for a minimum of 400 hours in a 12-month time frame, within the two years immediately following legal licensure. The individual must have practiced the entirety of their hours in direct preface to the application for licensure in Colorado. 
    • Completion of 24 hours of continuing education requirements related to the profession of massage therapy directly preceding the application for licensure in Colorado. The continuing education hours must be acquired through an approved program or seminar approved by the Director of the Board of Registrations

Renewal Requirements:

  • All massage therapy licenses in the state of Colorado expire on January 31st of odd numbered years
  • All licensed massage therapists must renew their license to continue practicing massage therapy in Colorado
  • Must submit the renewal form to the Division of Registrations
  • There is no set fee or continuing education requirements needed for massage therapy licensure renewal

Massage Therapy Schools