How to Become a Massage Therapist in Montana - MT
By an allied health world contributing writer
Find a school now
The process for those who wish to become a Massage Therapist in Montana just got a little bit more complicated. But, if you’re a professional serious about helping patients, the requirements should be a welcome barrier to entry. Stricter requirements can help ensure that only trained and qualified practitioners call themselves Massage Therapists and that the reputation of the field will continue to improve in the eyes of the law and the public.
- Celebrate your 18th birthday, earn your high school diploma and maintain a “good moral character” (however that is defined by the state).
- Complete Massage Therapy coursework in an accredited school. This must include at least 500 hours of time spent in class, self-directed study or online training, or hands-on practice, as well as passing whatever exams the school administers.
- Download the license application from Montana’s website, fill it out, and submit it with your fee.
- If you already have a license in good standing from another state, you can apply for a Montana license based on your previous efforts.
- If you already practice massage therapy in Montana (before the licensing law takes effect in July, 2010), you can submit the application with an affidavit that you’ve practiced at least 100 hours in the state.
In Montana, massage therapy certification through the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) is not a requirement. This is true only in 14 other states. It is possible that, as the five-member State Board of Massage Therapy develops its own set of standards, they may adopt those existing standards.
In the related field of acupuncture, however, the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) offers its exam to Montana practitioners and is required by the Montana Board of Medical Examiners.