dcsimg

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Oregon - OR

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Oregon

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists enforces the statutes regarding midwives and Massage Therapists. In Oregon, massage therapy certification is required.  It is illegal to practice massage therapy in the state without a license or with an expired license. The Board also keeps an eye on its massage therapists to ensure they do not break any laws and hears specific complaints against its licensees.

To gain your license to practice massage therapy in Oregon, you must

  • be at least 18 years old,
  • supply personal references to demonstrate good moral character,
  • provide educational certificates or transcripts of your schooling in massage therapy technique and practice,
  • Complete 500 hours (minimum) of massage therapy schooling in an accredited institution. Classes must include:
    • anatomy
    • physiology
    • kinesiology
    • hydrotherapy
    • theory and hands-on practice
    • bodywork
    • professional practice
    • client communication and boundaries
    • professional and business ethics
    • sanitation
  • pass a national standardized massage therapy examination. The exam is the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. However, if you passed the exam from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork prior to 2008, your results will be grandfathered in Oregon.
  • pass the Oregon Practical Exam, during which you must demonstrate your competency in one of a few dozen therapy modalities (you may choose from such styles as polarity, lomilomi, deep tissue, bowen, body talk or rolfing, among others.)
  • pass Oregon’s jurisprudence exam, regarding federal and state laws about massage therapy
  • submit the Oregon application and fee

If you earn your license in another state, Oregon massage therapy certification may be made available through a reciprocity waiver that will allow you to practice under a license by endorsement until the next renewal period ends. This requires that the other state’s requirements meet or exceed Oregon’s. You may have difficulty if your license is from New Hampshire, Arkansas, North Dakota or Washington state.

You can also receive a license by health endorsement if you are already licensed in another profession (MD, ND, DC, PT, OT, RN, LPN or LAC) and have studied at least 300 hours in massage theory and practical application (or some other types of massage-related studies

Massage Therapy Schools

Refine School Matches
Hide filters
  • SUBJECT Clear All

    See More

  • DEGREE

    See More

  • PROGRAM TYPE

  • START TIME

    LOCATION
    Please enter valid US or Canada Zip.
            Results open in new window

            Searching Searching ...

            Matching School Ads
            Massage Therapy (Diploma)
            • Offers classes built around small teams, so students get personal, one-on-one skills training.
            • Has 100 campuses— many of which are on or near public transportation routes.
            • Provides trained student finance planners to assist students seeking financial aid.
            • Incorporates hands-on training into all programs to provide students with important experience.
            • Provides day, evening, and weekend classes. (Classes offered may vary by location.)
            Show more [+]
            • Flexible Scheduling
            • Financial Aid
            Respiratory Therapy (AS)
            • Gives students a new laptop they can keep as a gift upon graduation.
            • Provides students the opportunity to save up to $5,000 on their degree with Fresh Start Scholarships.
            • Offers monthly start dates so students can choose when their program begins.
            • Students can earn an Associate's degree in as few as 15 months or Bachelor's degree in as few as 30 months.
            • A private, nonprofit college founded in Ogden-West Haven, Utah, in September 1891.

            Our family of non-profit colleges admits students of any race, color, and national or ethnic origin.

            Show more [+]
            • Flexible Scheduling
            • Financial Aid
            Advanced Addictions Counseling (Certificate) - Online
            • For the 12th consecutive year, Cal U was named one for the best schools in the Northeast by The Princeton Review 
            • Recognized by the U.S. News and World Report for: Best Online Programs, Bachelor’s 2017, Best Online Programs, Grad Education 2017 and Best Online Programs, Bachelor’s for Veterans 2017
            • Quality Online courses at Cal U have the same objectives, content and learning outcomes as campus-based programs and are taught by the same expert professors.
            • Offers private school amenities at a public school cost. Student-to-teacher ratio of 20:1
            • CAL U online programs complete an annual assessment of student learning to ensure outcomes are focused on your success in career entry, advancement or enhancement!
            Show more [+]
            • Accredited
            • Online Courses
            • Accelerated Programs
            • Financial Aid
            • Transferable Credits