Medical Billing and Coding Education in Minnesota - MN

Earning Medical Billing and Coding Certification in Minnesota

Although Minnesota does not have a formal licensing process for medical billing and coding professionals, there are several options for earning credentials that increase credibility and improve the workplace for specialists in this field.  This would include a Minnesota medical billing certificate, coding certificate, or a comprehensive medical billing and coding certification in Minnesota. As the field expands and educational options increase, most states will begin to certify their own specialists in billing and coding, but at the moment there are two ways to become certified on the national level.

The National Healthcareer Association (NHA)

Billing and coding specialists who have a high school diploma and have either completed an NHA-approved training program or a full year of experience in the field can apply to become a Certified Billing and Coding Specialist (CBCS) through the NHA.

To achieve the CBCS credential in Minnesota, professionals must:

  1. Have a high school diploma
  2. Complete an NHA-approved training program

- OR -

Have one (1) full year of experience in the field.

  1. Take the CBCS examination at an approved NHA delivery site in Minnesota. The exam fee is $105.

Recertification of a CBCS credential in Minnesota must take place every two (2) years. To recertify through the NHA, professionals must complete 10 CEUs. These CEUs can be submitted annually, and each time an applicant completes five (5) CEUs, they are sent a “CREDITS COMPLETED” sticker to adhere to their certification ID card. The processing of CEUs and recertification costs $79.50/year or $159 total.

American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA)

For students who prefer to get a college degree in health information, the AHIMA offers two credentialing options for billing and coding specialists: the Certified Coding Associate (CCA) and the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS). These two options require graduation from a degree program that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIME). The CCS credential was developed for specialists who already have a background in the field, while the CCA credential is available for specialists with limited job experience.

To become a CCS or CCA in Minnesota, specialists must take a two-part exam consisting of:

  1. 60 multiple-choice questions
  2. 180 medical care records that must be processed in four (4) hours.

The exam fee for CCAs who are members of AHIMA is $199. The fee for nonmembers is $299. The exam fee for member CCSs is $299, and the fee for nonmembers is $399. Annual membership in AHIMA is $165 for active status and $35 for students.
CCS and CCA certification is good for two (2) years, and specialists certified through AHIMA must complete 10 CEUs of continuing education during that time. These CEUs must be submitted to the AHIMA for approval, and the form for this can be found at www.ahima.org/certification.  The recertification fee for both credentials is $50.

Medical Billing & Coding Schools

Refine School Matches
Hide filters
  • SUBJECT Clear All

    See More


    See More



    Please enter valid US or Canada Zip.
            Results open in new window

            Searching Searching ...

            Matching School Ads
            Medical Billing and Coding Certificate
            • Ranked among the Best Online Bachelor’s Programs in 2015 by U.S. News and World Report.
            • Lets undergrad students try classes before paying any tuition.
            • Has an average class sizes of 18 for undergraduate and 13 for graduate-level courses.
            • Offers numerous scholarship opportunities that can help students save up to $750 per term on their tuition.
            • Tends to educate degree-seeking online and campus-based students who are adult learners with families and students who work while pursuing higher education.
            Show more [+]
            • Online Courses
            • Flexible Scheduling
            • Financial Aid
            • Transferable Credits
            Medical Staff Services Management A.A.S.
            • Serving students in higher education since 1941.
            • Offers diplomas and degree programs in accounting, healthcare, and business. 
            • Uses a unique inverted curriculum that enables students to take core classes in their first year.
            • Provides flexible scheduling for students with four start times per year.
            • Has 36 campus locations across the United States, as well as online courses.
            • Formed program advisory boards to ensure that all course material stays up to date.
            Show more [+]
            • Flexible Scheduling
            • Financial Aid
            • Transferable Credits
            • Education Connection is a 100% Free College Matching Service used by 50,000 People Daily.
            • Get Matched to the Right IT, Computer Science, Cybersecurity, Software and Application Development, Web Design or Technology Management Degree Program for YOU.
            • Affordable and Flexible Information Technology Degree Programs from Top Colleges Across the Nation. Both Online And Campus!
            • Just Fill Out a Few Questions and You Can Find Your Perfect IT/Computer Science Degree Program Within Minutes.
            • Start Using our Fast, Free, and Easy Matching Service Right HERE and Right NOW!
            • Online Courses