Mississippi Pharmacy Tech Certificate – MS
Steps to Becoming a Pharmacy Technician in Mississippi
In order to become a pharmacy technician in Mississippi, there are a number of requirements that must be met. Here are the steps that one would take:
- The educational requirements include a high school GED or diploma, typically followed by a 1-year pharmacy technician training program. During this training, one would typically gain work experience as a pharmacy assistant if possible. Pharmacy assistant jobs do not have any particular requirements, however they may be easier to obtain if a person is working toward becoming a technician in a program.
- After the 1 year Mississippi pharmacy technician certification program is completed, one would typically take the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Examination (PTCE) or the Exam for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians. Either exam may be taken by a pharmacy technician trainee, and both are nationally recognized by professional organizations and employers. After the exam is completed, the title Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) is granted.
- After obtaining the CPhT credential, registering with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy as a pharmacy technician is required. It is mandatory by law for pharmacy technicians to register and become licensed as pharmacy technicians with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy. There is a registering fee of $50.00.
- Also, every year there are continuing education requirements that must be met in order to maintain the CPhT credential and the Mississippi pharmacy technician license. Continuing education requirements for pharmacy technician licenses in Mississippi are 10 hours of training per year. Recertification for the CPhT credential every 2 years also requires 10 hours of pharmacy education per year. Many employers will cover the cost of continuing education.