Become a Vet Tech in North Carolina
Securing the title of Registered Veterinary Technician requires four basic steps. First one must submit a completed application to the Veterinary Medical Board. Secondly, one must have graduated from an AVMA accredited program of veterinary technology. Thirdly, candidates must pass the VTNE – Veterinary Technician National Exam. The national exam is a 200 question multiple choice exam. It currently is offered in January and June, but enhancements by AAVSB –American Association of Veterinary State Boards – the owners of the exam, will allow more frequent offerings for taking the exam. Finally, candidates must successfully pass the North Carolina State exam.
How to Become a Veterinary Technician in North Carolina
This exam is a Practice Act and Statute exam. It is 70 true/false questions along with 30 multiple choice style questions. To sit for the state exam, candidates must submit the following documentation:
- proof of graduation from one of the online or campus based North Carolina vet tech programs
- passport style photograph – no digital or person photos are accepted
- a copy of their social security card
- a copy of their college transcript
- proof of name change, if name is different than that on the application ( copy of divorce decree or marriage license is acceptable)
- if applicable, verification from other states where a credential is held
Once a candidate has submitted the appropriate documentation to take the state exam, they will be mailed a seating pass which must be presented, along with a picture id, at the time they take the exam.
Renewal of registration is required every two years. Veterinary technicians must submit proof of 12 hours of continuing education, the renewal application as well as the required fee by Dec. 31 of the renewal year. Continuing education must have been presented by an approved provider and only 3 hours can be earned through a computer based process. No correspondence type courses are allowed to be used as continuing education credits.
Credential revocation is quite specifically outlined in the regulations for veterinary technicians in North Carolina. If a credential is revoked, it can be reinstated provided the following is submitted to the Veterinary Medical Board:
- reinstatement form
- renewal fee for each year the credential was revoked
- late fee for each year the credential was revoked
- CE credits for each year the credential was revoked
- A reinstatement fee
The Practice Act for Veterinary Technicians in North Carolina is written is quite general terms. It is more specific in identifying those tasks which may not be performed by unlicensed assistants.