dcsimg

Louisiana Registered Dental Hygienist


To become a registered dental hygienist in Louisiana and obtain a license by credentials, a hygienist:

  1. Must take and pass a Louisiana jurisprudence exam.
  2. Cannot be convicted of a felony or have any pending charges.
  3. Must pay $900 in check or money order.
  4. Must appear before the Board for an interview.
  5. Must submit two passport-type photos with application for license.
  6. Must provide copy of diploma and evidence of national board examination grades.
  7. Submits three letters of recommendation from professional colleagues.
  8. Completes and present a current CPR certificate that meets Louisiana requirements.
  9. Must submit proof of citizenship.
  10. Must provide documentation that applicant is free of disease and is up-to-date on immunizations.
  11. Encloses certificates of good standing from any state in which the applicant previously practiced.
  12. Provides proof of professional liability insurance.
  13. Provides a sworn affidavit that there are no existing complaints against the applicant.
  14. Submits documentation of completed continuing education credits for two (2) years.
  15. Submits fingerprint documentation as required by the State of Louisiana.

To Obtain a License by Examination, a hygienist:

  1. Must arrange to take a Louisiana jurisprudence exam.
  2. Must pay $250 in check or money order.
  3. Must submit a recent passport-type photo.
  4. Must provide copy of diploma from accredited dental hygienist training or diploma program and evidence of national board examination grades.
  5. Provides certification of licensure from appropriate state boards if licensed in another state.
  6. Must complete and present a current CPR certificate that meets Louisiana requirements.
  7. Must submit proof of citizenship.
  8. Submits fingerprint documentation as required by the State of Louisiana.

Obtaining a Local Anesthesia Permit

A dental hygienist can apply for a special permit to administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of a practicing dentist. Hygienists must complete a formal training program consisting of at least 72 hours of approved course content and pass a written examination on the administration of anesthesia prior to application submittal. A hygienist administering anesthesia without this special endorsement can be subject to sanctions. The fee for this permit is $50, payable to the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry.

Dental Hygienist Schools