Become a Personal Trainer in Tennessee - TN
Becoming a Personal Trainer in Tennessee
Although in Tennessee personal trainer certification is not absolutely required by state law, most health clubs and recreation centers require that their employees be certified. Moreover, in Tennessee, personal trainer certification allows personal trainers to be incorporated and more accessible to clients looking for quality service. There are no specific state certification requirements for personal trainers, but typically certain health centers will require certification from a particular organization. Aspiring personal trainers in Tennessee have the extraordinarily convenient option of being able to pursue accredited online training.
Learn about personal training degree programs from sponsored school:
These programs require early registration, pre-study, and previous CPR training. Previous weight room training is also highly recommended. The curriculum includes sessions in Anatomy, fitness, nutrition, weight training, leadership skills, and special populations for clients with medical conditions. The fee for the program is $479 and is not refundable, even if the applicant fails the final exam.
After completing your education online, you may opt for elective national certification through a number of different agencies. Applicants can take a home-based course before they take a written exam. The certification exam can be taken in Tennessee at locations in Madison, Clarksville, Franklin, Chattanooga, Cordova, Knoxville, and Memphis. The exam should take about three hours to complete and is composed of 150 questions answered on a computer. There are nine individual content areas in the exam, the largest of which are training instruction (18%), exercise prescription (15%), and functional anatomy (13%). The exam fee is $199. If the applicant needs to retake the exam, an additional $99 must be paid; however, there is no limit to the number of times the test can be taken.