|Allied Health World Home | Occupational Therapy |||
| | More
Utah Occupational Therapist School
By allied health world contributing writer
Published: January, 21 2010
Find a school now
Steps to Become an Occupational Therapist in Utah
Utah requires that all Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants have a license to practice in the state. There are criteria that must be met to obtain a license after graduating with a Master’s degree from one of the accredited online or campus based Utah occupational therapy schools
Occupational Therapists must be of good moral character and have completed at least an undergraduate degree in an ACOTE (Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy) approved program in Occupational Therapy. There also are health and immunization requirements.
Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants must pass a criminal background check and drug screening, and then pass the NBCOT (National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy) certification exam.
When applying to take the exam, Occupational Therapy Registered (OTR) applicants must submit proof of graduation and document at least 50 hours of contact with a licensed OTR in at least two different settings. These hours should include observation, work and volunteering.
Applicants are responsible for making sure that his or her name matches on all documents, transcripts and forms. After the exam application has been processed (3-4 weeks) and the fees paid, an authorization to test (ATT) is issued, which will allow the applicant to schedule an exam.
Information and practice tests are available on the NBCOT website and those planning to take the exam are encouraged to look at the website and/or read the NBCOT handbook.
Occupational Therapy professionals can obtain a state license by completing a license application, having NBCOT test scores sent to the state licensing board, and paying all applicable fees and costs. The state licensing fee is $70 and doesn’t include the testing fees.
Occupational Therapy Assistants can obtain a state license by showing that they graduated from a two-year associate’s degree program in Occupational Therapy and are certified by NBCOT as an Occupational Therapy Assistant (COTA). They also must submit an application form to the state licensing board, and paying the $70 fee.
For more information on obtaining a license in Utah, check out the Utah Occupational Therapy Licensing Board at
Most OTR and COTA professionals in Utah choose to join Utah Occupational Therapy Association, a non-profit organization that is affiliated with American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). UOTA promotes the safe practice of Occupational Therapy, advocates for members and provides continuing education and networking for OT professionals.
Occupational Therapy Schools in Utah
At University of Phoenix, we believe everyone deserves access to higher education.
- Pleasant Grove
- MS in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Welcome to Argosy University
Argosy University offers doctoral, master's, and bachelor's degree programs to students through its seven colleges: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, Business, Education, Health Sciences, Undergraduate Studies, The Art Institute of California and Western State College of Law as well as certificate programs in many areas.