Becoming a Dentist in Maryland - MD
According to statehealthfacts.org, 6.3% of all Marylanders live in dental health professional shortage areas (Dental HPSAs) in the state. This means that 355,454 residents of Maryland are underserved in the dental health area. Career opportunities for dentists abound in Maryland. The need for more trained dentists in Maryland is clear. To become a dentist in Maryland, you must first be at least 18 years old and hold a DDS or DMD degree from a college or university recognized by the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners.
After you have completed dentistry training, you must pass the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners (NERB) examination. Maryland also requires that you pass the state’s Jurisprudence Examination on the Dental Laws and Regulations of Maryland. You must submit an application for licensure and a $450 fee, along with a passport-sized photo of yourself, certified examination scores, a certified copy of your degree. Application materials should be sent to: Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners, The Benjamin Rush Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Avenue, Catonsville, MD 21228, ATTN: Licensing Unit. Once you have received your dental license in Maryland, you must fulfill continuing education requirements of 30 hours every two years to maintain the license to practice dentistry in the state.