Phlebotomy Certification Exam in California – CA
By law in the state of California, a phlebotomist must be state certified or they are not allowed to work. The California Phlebotomy Regulations specific requirements for certification are listed below. A California phlebotomy certification is for a two-year period and can be renewed upon the presentation of proof of the required 6 hours of continuing education (CE hours) for renewal. Keeping your certification up to date impacts not only your qualifications for employment in desirable positions but also the salary level.
The state of California has strict regulations for issuance of the required state certificate allowing the applicant to practice this profession in California. As of April 2003, to apply for a state certificate, a new applicant must provide:
- high school graduate transcripts or GED
- proof of 40 hours of classroom (didactic) instruction
- proof of 40 hours of practical training
- proof of 50 venipunctures and 10 skin punctures.