Become a Dental Assistant in Florida - FL
Dental assistants do not have to be licensed in Florida in order to practice, but formal training is necessary to receive an expanded functions certificate.
Becoming a Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) in Florida requires formal dental assistant training; however, those who chose not to pursue formal registration can receive on-the-job training. Although this exemption is in accordance with state law, aspiring dental assistants in Florida will find employment opportunities are far greater for those who have had formal training and who hold RDA credentials. For those who wish to receive an expanded functions certificate, the requirements are outlined below:
- Be 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Complete a dental assistant certificate program. These programs typically last 9-12 months and include 1,230 hours of classroom and clinical training.
- Take the American Dental Association’s Dental Assisting National Board exam.