RHIT Certification in South Dakota - SD | Health Information Technology Degree | Courses

Health Information Technology Certification in South Dakota - SD

In South Dakota, professionals interested in securing employment as HIT professionals need to have the minimum of an associate degree in health information technology. This is a 2-year degree program that takes students through all of the basics, as well as a thorough clinical training application. You may be interested to know that bachelor degree programs are also available, which are 4-year programs. Although you don’t need this type of degree for entry-level work, this is a great option for advancing into an administrator role.

The benefit of HIT degrees in South Dakota is that they are predominantly available online, which means you can choose to attend school from your home instead of in a traditional classroom setting. Online options are quickly becoming the norm over conventional education.

To get an idea of the classes you will be taking, take a look at the list below:

  • Management of Health Information Services
  • Pathology I and II
  • Medical Law and Ethics
  • Medical Coding I and II
  • Health Statistics and Data Analysis

Your next step is to obtain RHIT certification in South Dakota, which is available through the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). AHIMA offers the Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) credential.

With either an online or campus-based program, future health information technicians in Sioux Falls, Rapid City, Aberdeen, and Watertown, South Dakota can secure employment with the state’s most recognized medical facilities, including, Avera Saint Luke’s Hospital, Rapid City Regional Hospital, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center and Sanford USD Medical Center.

Our Partner Listings