Becoming a Chiropractor in Florida - FL
How to Become a Chiropractor in Florida
Under Florida law, a chiropractor may and diagnose conditions or diseases by the use of most commonly used medical diagnostic methods including chemical physical, electrical, or thermal methods. Essentially any conventional method of examination taught in a school of chiropractic that has been approved by the Florida State Board of Chiropractic Examiners is within the scope of what a Florida chiropractor can use to assess his or her patients condition.
Chiropractic physicians are licensed in Florida to manipulate and adjust the skeletal structure of the human body by mechanical, manual, electrical or natural methods. In short this may done by the use of either physical means or physiotherapy, which may include light, heat, water, or exercise. Chiropractors can also recommend foods and food concentrates and extracts. However, in Florida, chiropractors are prohibited from prescribing or administering any drug, or from performing surgery or practicing obstetrics.
For those who want to know how to become a chiropractor in Florida, it is important to recognize that Florida is one of six states/territories that require both a bachelor degree and a Doctor of Chiropractic (DC) degree in order to become licensed. Following training, Florida requires prospective chiropractors to pass the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NCBE) Part IV and Physiotherapy Examinations (which count as the state examination) as well as the NCBE Parts I, II and III (the national examination). These computer-based tests are given at Prometric test centers across the state, including Temple Terrace, Tampa, Maitland and Sarasota. The fee for a chiropractic license application is $100, and the examination fee is $500.