Becoming a Chiropractor in Vermont - VT
How to Become a Chiropractor in Vermont
There are several key steps to becoming a chiropractor in Vermont. In Vermont, the chiropractic profession is overseen by the Office of Professional Regulation, which is a branch of the Secretary of State. A license to practice is required. Issuance of the license as well as professional governing is administered by this office.
To apply for a license to be a chiropractor in Vermont, the following is required:
- Payment of stated fees
- Passing sections I-IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners examinations
- Passing the Physiotherapy section of the national examination
- Two years pre-professional study (a four year requirement is under consideration for Vermont)
- A certified transcript from an institution certified by the Council of Chiropractic Education providing evidence of graduation
- 24 hours of continuing education every two years
Vermont offers a “License of Endorsement�? for individuals who have more than 500 hours of practice and a license in good standing in another state. Application for a License of Endorsement requires that individuals pass an examination on Vermont laws.These requirements have been enacted by the Office of Professional Regulation to ensure consistent education and clinical training of individuals seeking to be a chiropractic provider in Vermont. Licensing and regulation ensure consumer protections for those seeking access to health care practitioners.