Becoming a Physical Therapist in Kansas – KS
To become a physical therapist in Kansas, one must complete an undergraduate program in a health field, complete a physical therapy graduate program, and pass the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE). The NPTE is a multiple-choice exam taken on a computer and must be taken by all physical therapists in the country. Test takers usually have about five hours, with a short break in the middle, to complete the exam. In Kansas, applicants must score a 600 in order to apply for a license, and have three chances to pass. The NPTE is managed by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.
How to Become a Physical Therapist in Kansas
After a passing score is achieved, the Kansas licensure application can be filled out. The application forms can be found at the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (KSBHA) website. Applicants must provide their full name, contact information, social security number, and a 2�?X3�? ID photo. All colleges or universities attended by the applicant must submit transcripts directly to the KSBHA. Applicants cannot submit transcripts in person. However, the applicant must also have the school’s registrar sign the application form and stamp it with the school’s seal. Any past or current professional licenses must also be disclosed. In order to practice physical therapy in Kansas, applicants must also have a professional reference sign the application. The reference must be a licensed, practicing physical therapist (not necessarily in Kansas), and must disclose how long he/she has known the applicant. Applicants must also answer a lengthy list of questions about any past criminal records or license suspensions. The oath and information release form at the end of the physical therapy license application must be notarized.
The application fee is $800. If applicants want a temporary license while they wait for their applications to be processed, they must pay an additional $25. By Kansas state law, physical therapists must also have liability insurance before they can begin practicing. The insurer’s accountability must be at least $100,000 per claim. One final step in the Kansas application process is to take the Jurisprudence Exam. However, this exam is simply 25 multiple choice questions that must be completed by the applicant. In fact, the test can be printed out along with all of the other application forms. Applicants can refer to the KSBHA website or the Kansas State Practice Act when completing this exam.
Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (KSBHA)
235 S. Topeka Boulevard
Topeka, KS 66603-3068
Tel: (785) 296-7413
Fax: (785) 296-0852
The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
124 West Street South, Third Floor
Alexandria, VA 22314
Tel: (703) 739-9420
Fax: (703) 739-9421
Physical therapy licenses in Kansas must be renewed every odd year by December 31st. Renewal may be conducted online or by filling out a form. The renewal fee is $70.