Becoming a Physician Assistant in Michigan
Michigan’s physician assistant profession will show projected growth of 21 percent between 2006 and 2016 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. This means the number of physician assistant jobs in Michigan will grow from 2,400 to 2,890. However, given that the expected growth nationally was bumped up from an estimated 27 percent between 2006 and 2016 to 29.2 percent between 2008 and 2018, the growth in Michigan may also be a little higher.
According to the March 2009 newsletter of the Michigan Academy of Physician Assistants, the academy’s 2007 survey revealed that 143 of Michigan’s 165 counties were experiencing some health care shortage, and the Michigan Jobs & Career Portal of the Michigan government reported that Michigan has a shortage of physician assistants.
Those interested in knowing how to become a physician assistant in Michigan should note that all applicants for a license must already have completed an educational program that the Task Force on Physician’s Assistants, Michigan’s regulating body for PAs, has approved. Make sure your check to the State of Michigan ($90 for a license by examination or by endorsement) comes from a United States institution and accompanies your paperwork. You’ll also need to provide fingerprints and evidence of a check on possible criminal involvement. You must also make sure a transcript is forwarded directly to the Task Force from the school where you got your degree or certificate, and you must send the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants a release form so that it can send your scores on the PANCE examination to the Task Force office. Also have a form sent to the Task Force that verifies any permanent license you have from another state.
Note that if at present you have a sanction (whether a fine, suspension, probation, revocation, or limitation), you may not get a license to fill one of the physician assistant jobs in Michigan that may be available.
Applications take a month and a half to two months to process, but the Task Force will accept questions starting three weeks after it receives your application. Your first license will be valid for a year and the ones thereafter for two years.
In order to become a physician assistant in Michigan, when you’re done, send all the documents you have completed and any supporting materials to:
Michigan Department of Community Health
Task Force on Physician’s Assistants
P.O. Box 30670
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Telephone: (517) 335-0918
Web site: www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
Explore more programs similar to Physician Assistants below: