Illinois Radiology Technician Schools - IL | Degrees

Radiology Tech School in Illinois - IL

There are 29 Illinois radiology technician schools.  Twenty of these are associate degree programs and nine of them are certificate programs.  An associate’s degree program is a two-year program that is offered through a technical academy or a community college.  Onsite classroom instruction is offered, as well as offsite clinical rotations at local and regional hospitals and clinics.  A certificate program is also typically a two-year program that is offered only through a hospital.  All of the instruction is given by hospital employees who are radiology technologists themselves, and the clinical component is completed onsite. 

An additional degree option is a bachelor’s degree program.  This four-year program is similar to the associate’s degree program, with the primary difference being the amount of time involved.  It is only offered through colleges and universities.  Illinois does not offer a bachelor’s degree program for radiology technologists, at campus locations, however there are a variety of online options available. Keep in mind that all programs certificate, associate degree or bachelor’s degree) must be approved by either the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT). 

Through campus or online programs, aspiring Radiology Technicians in Chicago, Aurora, Rockford and Joliet, Illinois may be able to prepare themselves for the possibility of employment in some of the largest hospitals and healthcare facilities in the state including the Chicago Lakeshore Hospital, Children's Memorial Hospital, Lincoln Park Hospital and Northwestern Memorial Hospital.
Our Partner Listings