Massachusetts Massage Therapy Schools - MA
A licensed massage therapist in the state of Maryland may practice in all industries including health care. A registered massage therapist must complete the same requirements as a licensed massage therapist with one exception. A registered massage therapist does not need to complete 60 credit hours of college coursework through a Maryland massage school and; therefore, cannot work in the health care industry. Also, a registered massage therapist may only practice non-therapeutic massage techniques. Becoming licensed in Maryland opens up far greater opportunities for employment and career advancement The applications and schedule of fees can be found at the Massage Therapy Advisory Committee's website.
Maryland Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Massage Therapy Advisory Committee
4201 Patterson Ave.
Baltimore, Maryland 21215
Continuing Educational Requirements for Massage Therapists in the State of Maryland
Even though Maryland has two different credentials, the continuing educational requirements are the same. Certificate and registration holders in the state of Maryland must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing educational (CE) hours within a two-year period. The hours breakdown are as follows: 3 hours must cover professional ethics or the state's statutes and regulations, 3 hours must cover the topic of communicable disease, which includes HIV/AIDS, and 18 hours covering massage therapy related topics. In addition, a valid CPR certification is required at the time of renewal.
Through campus based and online programs, aspiring Massage Therapists in Baltimore, Columbia, Silver Spring and Ellicot City, Maryland may be able to prepare themselves for the possibility of employment in some of the largest hospitals and healthcare facilities in the state including the Franklin Square Hospital Center, Holy Cross Hospital, John Hopkins Medicine and Prince George’s Hospital Center.