Learn Massage Therapy in New York - NY
The state of New York can really be separated into New York City and everything else. While the state capital, Albany, has fewer than 100,000 people, New York City boasts over 8.3 million. This is defiantly worth noting for those considering massage therapy training in New York City. Massage therapists can work anywhere, but they definitely rely on at least one of two types of clients: those with injuries and/or those seeking stress release and relaxation. One can only imagine the possibilities in a city of eight million—many of whom are tourists looking for some R&R that only a good massage can afford!
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), there were 2,260 massage therapists in the state last year. Not surprisingly, the most jobs for massage therapists are available in the New York City, Syracuse and Ithaca metropolitan areas and median salaries are highest in New York City, Ithaca, and Nassau (according to citytowinfo.com). There were 5.3% more therapists in the state in 2008 over 2007 indicating this is a growth industry.
Continuing Education Requirements/Licensure Renewal for New York Massage Therapists
The complete rules and regulations for obtaining a license to practice massage therapy in New York can be found at: http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/mtlic.htm. Among the requirements are that candidates be 18 years old, legal residents allowed by law to work in the US, proficient in English and have completed a CPR course within the last three years as well as the required coursework to practice.
Upon completing your massage therapy training in New York, you will need to file an application with the state’s board and then sit a state-mandated exam that costs $150 (and $45 for each re-examination). If you pass, your license will cost $50 and every three years you will need to reapply for a license for $50.
The state does offer some “limited” licenses to therapists who don’t meet all of the qualifications but who are able to practice under qualified professionals. The fee for limited licensure is $35.
More detailed information regarding the educational requirements is available at: http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/article155.htm.