Oklahoma Pharmacy Tech Certificate – OK
How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma
The State of Oklahoma requires that a pharmacy technician be licensed.
In addition, individual employers may require or prefer their pharmacy technicians to have professional certification. The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) offers an examination for the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) credential. Training information and examination schedules can be found at http://www.ptcb.org.
To be eligible for national certification, students must complete an online program or Oklahoma pharmacy technician certification program according to guidelines set forth by the Oklahoma’s State Pharmacy Board.
- Obtain a high school diploma or a G.E.D
- Complete the Phase 1, Pharmacy Technician Training Program under the supervision of a pharmacist.
- Obtain a Pharmacy Technician Permit.
A permit must be obtained before a technician can begin Phase 2 of the training program. To obtain a Pharmacy Technician Permit application, a form can be downloaded at www.ok.gov/OSBP/documents/technew.pdf and filled out online.
Accompanying the application, the supervising pharmacist must sign a Pharmacist Review and Training Verification form.
Since 2007, all applicants are also required to submit a notarized verification that they are either a legal citizen of the United States or are considered lawfully present under the Federal Immigration and Naturalization Act.
Applicants are to send the application for the Pharmacy Technician permit, the pharmacist verification form, and the citizenship credential, along with a check or money order for $440.00 to the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy, 4545 Lincoln Blvd, Suite 112, Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3488. For further information, phone 405-521-3815 or e-mail [email protected].
- Phase 2, begin on-the-job pharmacy technician training (OTJ) in a pharmacy. The individual has 90 days after they have received their permit to complete Phase 2 training.
Pharmacy technician permits, with a photo ID, must be displayed in every facility where the technician is working. Duplicate permits must be obtained if an individual works at more than one pharmacy. The Pharmacy Technician permit must be renewed annually by the end of the individual’s birth month.
Individuals are encouraged to become certified and take continuing education (CE) courses during the course of their career.