Rhode Island Pharmacy Tech Certificate – RI
Steps to Becoming a Pharmacy Technician in Rhode Island
- To be eligible for employment as a pharmacy technician in Rhode Island, you must be at least 18 years old, except high school students working at pharmacies as part of a career exploration program; a high school graduate or the equivalent, or currently enrolled in a high school or vocational training program which awards a high school diploma; of good moral character; and have no felony convictions involving controlled substances.
- There are two ways in Rhode Island to become a fully qualified pharmacy technician, known as a Pharmacy Technician II. One option is to prepare for and pass a national certification examination after completion of a Rhode Island pharmacy technician certification program. The two best known national organizations that administer certification tests are the Pharmacy Technician Board (www.ptcb.org) and the Institute for Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (www.nationaltechexam.org). Test results from either organization are accepted in Rhode Island. You can register, buy study materials, and take online practice exams through these organizations’ websites.
- You can enroll in and successfully complete a Rhode Island Department of Health Board of Pharmacy approved pharmacy technician certification program. The following programs are Board-approved:
- U.S. Armed Forces or U.S. Public Health Service
- Regionally accredited college or university offering Rhode Island pharmacy technician certification programs
- A program that includes successful completion of a Board-approved nationally-recognized certification examination such as the Pharmacy Technician certification exam (PTCB) or the Institute for Certification of Pharmacy Technicians ExCPT certification exam.
While enrolled in a training program, it is possible to work as a Pharmacy Technician I. A state-issued license is required. Pharmacy technicians at this level perform all their duties under a pharmacist’s direct supervision, and only for a specific employer.
- Obtain your license. Submit an application form, non-refundable $40.00 fee, and copy of PTCB or ExCPT certificate, or verification of completion of an approved training program to the Rhode Island Department of Health Board of Pharmacy.
The licensing period runs from July 1 through June 30, and must be renewed annually.