Speech Pathology Programs in Texas - TX
How to become a Speech Language Pathologist in Texas
The Texas State Board of Examiners of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology regulates speech therapy licenses in Texas. The Boards website and contact information may be found below.
State Board of Examiners of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Texas Department of State Health Services
Mail Code 1982
P.O. Box 149347
Austin , Texas 78714-9347
Tel: (512) 834-6627
Fax: (512) 834-6677
E-mail: [email protected]
The process of obtaining a full licensure for speech language pathology in Texas follows closely with the education requirements that must be met by applicants. For example, after receiving a bachelor’s degree, with emphasis in Speech Language Pathology, applicants may obtain an Assistant License. After completing online or campus based Texas speech pathology graduate programs along with the clinical practicum, an Intern License may be held by the prospective speech therapist. After completing 36 weeks of the nine-month full-time supervised professional internship, applicants can obtain a temporary certification if they also register to take the Specialty Area Test in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology offered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS). After passing this exam and completing the professional internship, a full license for speech language pathology will be granted. The assistant and full licensures are for two years, while the intern licensure is for one year.
The ETS exam is a written test, not taken on a computer, and can take a couple hours to complete. Test scores must be submitted directly to the board in order to count toward licensure. Applicants must score at least a 600 on the exam. There are ETS testing sites in Abilene, Austin, Dallas, Edinburg, Farmers Branch, Houston, Kingsville, Lubbock, and San Antonio.
The fees for the entire application process are as follows:
Assistant license: $163
Intern license: $83
Temporary license: $55
ETS Exam: $90
Full license: $163
If an applicant already holds a certification from The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), then he/she can apply directly for a full speech language pathology license and pay a fee of $163.
Beginning in January 2010, all new speech language pathologists must take a Speech-Language Pathology Jurisprudence Exam. The exam is a multiple choice test that may be taken online and must be taken six months before applying for licensure. All current license holders will have to take the exam before their current renewal period is up. The exam is simply meant to inform professional speech therapists of state laws and regulations. In fact, the exam is “no-fail.�?
In Texas, a full licensure is not required to practice speech pathology in public elementary and secondary schools; however, it is highly suggested that speech therapist are licensed. Moreover, therapists working at public schools must have a teaching certification.