Speech Pathology Programs in Vermont - VT
How to Become a Speech-Language Pathologist in Vermont
If you hunger for the beauty and quaintness of New England and prefer a slow, small-town way of life, then Vermont might be just the place for you. Plus, the average annual salary for a speech-language pathologist (SLP) in the State of Vermont is $98,000, which is pretty much in line with the national average. Follow these steps to become a certified SLP in Vermont:
1. Education. In this state, certified SLPs are required to attend online or campus based Vermont speech pathology graduate programs and earn a master’s degree or higher in Speech-Language Pathology. Programs all around the country are selective and intensely competitive, so strive to be the best in the class from high school on.
2. PRAXIS Exam. PRAXIS is a national paper-and-pencil exam that is given twice annually. Certification as an SLP in Vermont requires a score of 600 or higher on the PRAXIS II exam in speech-language pathology (test code 0330). The exam is facilitated by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) and commissioned by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) and should be completed after graduation or during the first year of post-graduate clinical practice. For information about fees, registration, test center locations and dates, look under PRAXIS on the ETS website, www.ets.org.
3. Clinical Fellowship Year. All Vermont SLPs must complete the Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) as defined by ASHA (www.asha.org). If you have completed all other requirements for an SLP license and are in the process of completing your CFY, it is possible to attain a provisional license, which is good for only two years.
4. Licensure. SLPs in this state are licensed by the Vermont Department of Education.
Vermont Department of Education
Office of Licensing and Professional Standards
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501
Applications, forms, and details regarding license requirements can be accessed at the Department of Education website. Here is an overview of what must be submitted:
a. Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologist License Application Forms (http://education.vermont.gov/new/pdfdoc/licensing/forms/slp_audiologist_licensure/application_forms.pdf)
b. Signed and Notarized Oath or Affirmation, swearing to support the U.S. Constitution, the State of Vermont, and national and state laws
c. Vermont Educational Criminal Record Check
d. One of these two options:
i. Notarized Request for Criminal Record Check form
ii. Fingerprint Authorization Certificate form
iii. Fee of $19.25, check or money order made out to “Vermont Department of Public Safety�?
i. A copy of your ASHA Certification as an SLP (see www.asha.org)
ii. Completion of all three of these requirements:
- Master’s degree or higher in speech-language pathology (official transcript)
- Completion of the Clinical Fellowship Year, as defined by ASHA (documentation certifying this)
- Score of 600 or higher on the Praxis II exam in Speech-Language Pathology
e. Employment Record
f. List of Licenses (and copy of each document)if any are held
g. Licensing Fee: $140, which includes a one-time processing fee of $35. The Vermont SLP license is good for three years.
h. Designated Post Card (provided in forms) or Self-Addressed Stamped Envelope