Become a Vet Tech in West Virginia
How to Become a Veterinary Technician in West Virginia
Individuals in West Virginia looking for a rapidly developing career in the health care profession and possess a passion for animals are encouraged to consider a career as a veterinary technician (VT). Admittedly, the veterinary technician field is still in its earlier phases of development and definition, with approximately only 100,000 VTs currently residing in the United States. However, many people are becoming more attracted to a career as a VT because of the excellent occupational outlook that awaits them. The United States Bureau of Labor Statistics has announced its prediction that VTs can expect an incredible 36% growth rate between 2008 and 2018. This percentage growth will result in ten of thousands of new job openings nationwide, and West Virginia’s job market for VTs will benefit as a result.
The direct way to becoming a veterinary technician in West Virginia is by gaining proper education and training. This is accomplished by graduating from one of the state approved West Virginia vet tech programs. Graduates are then in a position to take a competency examination thereof, and register with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.
More specifically, VTs must fill out and submit an “Application for Examination Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT)�? form. This form will require applicants to provide:
-personal identifying information including name, address, phone number, telephone number, e-mail address, date and place of birth (must at least 18 years-old)
-copy of birth certificate
-proof of authorization to legally work in the United States
-copy of an official transcript from a two-year or four-year veterinary technician training program
-copy of training program diploma
-admittance of any felony convictions regarding controlled substances
-list of other states where applicant appears on a veterinary technician state registry
-information pertaining to child support or medical support obligations
-$10 application fee
-$100 fee for West Virginia written jurisprudence examination
*After gaining acceptance into the West Virginia state registry, RVTs will maintain active status for one year, at which time a renewal registration form will need to be submitted along with a $60 fee.